Ada Yonath Advisory board member

Ada Yonath
mRNA biology

Nobel prize winner Chemistry 2009 for her work on the structure and function of the ribosome.

Ada Yonath is the current Director of the Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Center for Biomolecular Structure and Assembly of the Weizmann Institute of Science. She is a crystallographer best known for her pioneering work on the structure of the ribosome. In 2009, she received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry along with V. Ramakrishnan and T. A. Steitz, for her studies on the structure and function of the ribosome, becoming the first Israeli woman to win the Nobel Prize out of ten Israeli Nobel laureates, the first woman from the Middle East to win a Nobel prize in the sciences, and the first woman in 45 years to win the Nobel Prize for Chemistry. She accepted postdoctoral positions at the Carnegie Mellon University (1969) and MIT (1970). She headed a Max-Planck Institute Research Unit at DESY in Hamburg, Germany (1986–2004) in parallel to her research activities at the Weizmann Institute. She is a member of the United States National Academy of Sciences; the American Academy of Arts and Sciences; the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities; the European Academy of Sciences and Art and the European Molecular Biology Organization. Ada is a member of Anima's SAB since 2009.